Hero photograph
BHS Year 9 NZCT Boys Cricket XI
Photo by Rozz Guillemot

NZCT Year 9 Boys Cricket Tournament

Rozz Guillemot —

The NZCT Boys tournament is a National tournament that commences in Term 4 each year, with the National finals being held in March. It is open to Year 9 players, who become Year 10's for the latter part of the tournament in term 1.

The first round of this tournament was a mini tournament between Riccarton High School, St Thomas's College and Burnside High School. This tournament decided who would go into the main draw of the NZCT tournament. Our boys won this tournament earning themselves a place in the main tournament draw.

The second round saw the team playing a very slick Christchurch Boys High School team. Our team put up a brave fight but the quality of the CBHS bowlers had our boys on the back foot from the first ball and we unfortunately ended up losing this game.  As this is a knock out style tournament this was our last game in the tournament.  

The boys all played really well over the two days of play and gained some very valuable experience playing against one of the best Year 9 cricket teams in Christchurch.

The Burnside High NZCT Year 9 Boys Cricket XI - Alex Bett, Sebastian Enoka, Ben Hooker, Sam Jackson, Abed Khan, Finn McGinn, Brayden Morrison, Aditya Tiwary, Rivith Welengoda Hewage and Thomas Vesty.  Most of these boys play for the North West Youth Cricket Club on a Saturday.

A big thank you to our Parent Managers, Mr Mike Hooker and Mr Simon Vesty, and to Mr Shane Young for all his work with the North West Youth Cricket Club.