Hero photograph
Photo by Kate Dore


Kate Dore —

Photo Left to Right: Sam Boswell, Grayson Faulkner, Jess Jennings, Matthew Davidson, Sarah Crook, Luca Sanders, Ody Ubukata Sekman, Callum McGrail, Jake Burrowes Absent: Max Clinch, Luke Hickling, Sue Petrie

The 2018 Cobham Cycling Team has 12 riders this year! The riders compete every Wednesday afternoon at Tai Tapu over terms 2 and 3 in the Christchurch Schools Cycling road competition as part of an overall Cycling NZ Schools programme, which is a mix of Graded Scratch (bunch), Individual Time Trial or Team Time Trial racing. The competition is open to intermediate and high schools, and riders are initially graded and compete each week against others of a similar ability. This year there are close to 170 riders taking part in the Christchurch competition.

For most of our riders road racing is a new experience and the school can be really proud of the commitment, effort and attitude of its cyclists as they compete each week in the various disciplines.

This year, for the first time, the South Island Road Championships will be held in Timaru on the 7th and 8th July, and we have four riders who will be wearing the Cobham cycling uniform with pride in the Individual Time Trial and Road race against riders from all over the South Island. We wish the best of luck to our representatives Sue, Matthew, Callum and Luca!