Pastoral Help by

My child needs some pastoral help, who should I contact?

Year 7/8 students First port of call is the Homeroom Teacher of the student.

These teachers spend the most time with your child and will have the best handle on what is happening with them. Depending on what the issue is they will either work through the issue with your child OR refer it on to the appropriate person.

Year 9 – 13 students will contact either their Vertical Form teacher OR their Year level Dean.

Again, they will work through the issue and decide whether it should be referred on, and who to.

GHS PASTORAL TEAM 2019

Eliza Williams – Pastoral Coordinator & Year 12/13 Dean E-mail: e.williams@geraldinehs.school.nz

Mark Hayward – Guidance Counsellor/Careers E-mail: m.hayward@geraldinehs.school.nz

Anne Rawson –Social Worker E-mail: a.rawson@geraldinehs.school.nz

Bronwyn Clarke - Year 7&8 Dean (Tripp House) E-mail: b.clark@geraldinehs.school.nz

Mrs Andy Morrison - Year 9 Dean (Acland House) E-mail: a.morrison@geraldinehs.school.nz

Miss Amy Ross - Year 10 Dean (MacDonald House) E-mail: a.ross@geraldinehs.school.nz

Mrs Jane Voigt - Year 11 Dean (Cox House) E-mail: j.voigt@geraldinehs.school.nz

Ms Sarah Hamilton - Year 11 Dean (Cox House) E-mail: s.hamilton@geraldinehs.school.nz

WE ARE HERE TO ENSURE YOUR SON OR DAUGHTER FEELS SAFE AND HAPPY AT OUR SCHOOL. SOME STUDENTS NEED HELP TO BUILD RESILIENCE AS THEY GO THROUGH HIGH SCHOOL AND WE ARE HAPPY TO HELP.

STUDENT Pastoral Help Form: Yellow form

Any student may fill out a form if they are having problems (friendship, personal, school related) at school that they want some help with. They can then make a request who they would like to deal with it. As much as possible we like to use our awesome Yr 12 and 13 WeB Students who have been trained to work with students. They will refer to a teacher where necessary. The forms are in the student reception area.

Student Booking System for Mrs Rawson and Mr Hayward:

If a student has an issue they need to;

  • Make contact with either one of the Deans (preferably their own Dean) or Ms Williams (the Pastoral Coordinator). A good way to do this is for the student to see the Dean on duty outside the staffroom in the morning. Other than that they need to catch up with a Dean (but not during class time) or talk to their Homeroom teacher or VF teacher who will contact a Dean.
  • The Dean will then book a time for the student with the appropriate person and at an appropriate time (not in the middle of an assessment!)
  • The student will be given an appointment card.
  • The student needs to show the appointment card to the classroom teacher before leaving for their appointment. Mrs Rawson or Mr Hayward will then rebook the student if they need to see them again. Note that Mrs Rawson or Mr Hayward may decide, once they meet with the student, that they need to go to the other person and will refer them as necessary.

Emergencies – if it is a real emergency of course the student can see Mrs Rawson or Mr Hayward directly.