Hero photograph
Tuakana Taina Awards
Photo by Pip Gibson-Judge & Fiona McLeod

Celebrating Student Achievement

Rowan Milburn, Deputy Principal —

The last week saw two key school events take place.

The first was the Year 11 Pō Whakanui and Prize Giving on Friday 3rd November. It was fantastic to see a large number of students cross the stage in recognition of consistent effort and engagement in their classes. Special mention to Freddie Gormack-Smith who received the inaugural Tuakana Taina award for the student in Year 11 who embodies the school values of trust, respect, integrity and personal responsibility. Also a big congratulations to Ethan Bushby and Gisele Proud who shared the Year 11 Academic Excellence award for 2017.

Gisele was also the Cultural award winner and Charme Bishop the Bicultural award winner.

There were a number of photos taken at both prize givings. Here is a link to the Year 11 Pō Whakanui and Prize Giving photos (the Senior College Prize Giving photos are still being processed).


The second event was the Senior Prize Giving held on Tuesday evening. This was a wonderful showcase of student achievement, talent, attitude and perseverance. Congratulations to our special award winners:

Bickerton-Widdowson Scholarships – Giselle Weir, Maiya-Rose Sadler, Luna-May Hart, and Ryan Zegerman
Westonian Scholarships – Tara Bushby and Phoebe Keddell
Mavis Osborn Music Award – Anakin Hunter and Carter Neal
Hugh McDougall Rankin Award for Science – Gemma Ballantyne
Cultural Award – Solomon Green
Bicultural Award – Rongomai Callaghan
Abdul Rahman Ikhtiari Award – Freba Ahmadi
Citizenship Award – Luna-May Hart
Contribution to Sport Award – Mackenzie Stewart-Martin
Tuakana Taina Year 12 – Keegan Low
Tuakana Taina Year 13 – Nasteho Mohamud Mohamed
Year 12 Academic Excellence – Elia Gibbons
Adult Excellence – Kerry Thomson
Dux – Phoebe Keddell

Photographs from the Senior College Prize Giving will be on the College Facebook page and a link available from the website early next week.

Congratulations to all prize winners.