Super 8 Sevens Final Try by Whakaata Māori

Super 8 Sevens Double Championship!

The Senior and Junior Premier Sevens won their respective Super 8 titles over the weekend in Rotorua. The Senior team went back to back, whilst the Junior team went one better than their runners up tag from last year.

The second edition of the Super 8 School Sevens Tournament was held in Rotorua over the weekend with both sides heavily populated with Argyle House boys. Altogether there were 18 hostel boys represented across the two teams.

Junior Team: Nikau Collins, Hunter Hammond, Shakur Cook, Houkura Lunjevich, Toby Wales, Tom Foote, Regan Rahiri, and Maxwell Kara.

Senior Team: Mac Russ, Wyndham Patuawa, Alex Pitts-Brown, Ross Anderson, Rangiwai Lunjevich, Dallas Rata-Makene, George Roose, Nikau Dromgool, Jack Gallon, and Oli Mathis.

Junior results were as follows:

v New Plymouth BHS won 26-12

v Rotorua BHS lost 19-24

v Tauranga BC won 31-10

Semi Final v Palmerston North BHS won 35-0

Final v Hastings BHS won 33-14

Honourable mention was made of Toby Wales who had an outstanding tournament and was deservedly awarded Man of the Match in the final. Also to Shakur Cook who kicked some outstanding goals over the course of the two days.

Senior results were as follows:

v Gisborne BHS won 26-5

v Rotorua BHS lost 17-19

v New Plymouth BHS won 41-5

Semi Final v Tauranga BC won 20-19

Final v Rotorua won 21-19

All our Hostel boys performed exceptionally for the Senior Premier Team with five of the seven players in the starting team. Honourable mention was made of Captain Mac Russ who had a superb tournament, as did Jack Gallon who scored the match winning try and Dallas Rata-Makene who kicked the conversion to seal the victory.