by Murray McKenzie

Maniapoto Under 17 Boys' Māori National Touch Team - National Champions

Maxwell Kara (Year 10), Kiwa Rata (Year 12) and Koewyn Kearins-Te Whare (Year 11) played in this National Māori Touch tournament held in Rotorua on Saturday the 2nd and Sunday the 3rd of December.

It was a gruelling tournament with the team playing a total of six games, winning five and drawing one. 

They played Ngati Hine (Auckland) in the final, having drawn with them in the round-robin fixture, winning 9 - 8. It was an epic battle right through to the end.

Image by: Murray McKenzie

Maxwell Kara was awarded MVP of the Tournament. Congratulations, Maxwell, and to all players from Argyle House and Hamilton Boys' High School!