Hero photograph
Anica Raitak, Eva Freeman, Daneka McClean, Olivia Astwood, Lola Meeking-Coad and Danielle McCormick enjoying the long jump

Katikati College Athletics Championships

Juliet Dunlop-Fraser —

A wet start to our annual athletics champs signalled the possibility of a miserable day but the sun came out and another great school event was held.

Some amazing results were posted with Gemma Groenewald a stand-out in Year 8 distance events breaking Roelien Du Plessis' 1500 (5:29.99) and 3000m (12:05.41) records which were already fantastically quick times. Great stuff Gemma! Afuhia Uilou threw 10.00m to break another shotput record which had also previously been held by Roelien. Daniel Nicholson was in good form and set a new record of 4:47.86 in the 1500m for Junior Boys, breaking one of our longest standing records set by Paul Kinder in 1978. Strong participation from students, especially in the field events, saw Stewart House emerge the winner, MacMillan 2nd, Mulgan 3rd and Gledstanes 4th.

​Well supported by the Food Technology department, staff were kept fuelled by delicious food and coffee that helped to keep everyone happy and "on-task’!


Year 7 Boys Champion - Cruz Hodson

Runner up= - Jethro Menendez & Dylan Main

Year 7 Girls Champion - Mackenzie Walter

Runner up - Rose Swain

3rd - Malinga Taulani

Year 8 Boys Champion - Aiskake Vakasiuola

Runner up - Baxter Anderson

3rd= - Gene Sario & Nishi Ravji

Year 8 Girls Champion - Jessie Christie, Gemma Groenewald, Meg Harray 1st=

Junior Boys Champion - Jay Gordon

Runner up - Jacob Maloni

3rd= - Daniel Nicholson, Luke Spurr & Alex Tuilaepa

Junior Girls Champion - Mikaela Salmon

Runner up - Aylish Dunlop

3rd - Emily Ashley

Intermediate Girls Champion - Jess Harray

Runner up - Dakota Eade

3rd - Shelby Catley

Intermediate Boys Champion - Dandre Du Plessis

Runner up - Tesimoni Uilou

3rd - Sositeni Tautuaa

Senior Boys Champion - Tanner Hayes

Runner up - Tom O’Brien

3rd - James Thompson

Senior Girls Champion - Roelien Du Plessis

Runner up - Margaret Sukkel

3rd - Tessa Bradley

Full results will be published on Moodle.