Hero photograph

EPro8 Heats 2021

Hamish Carr —

Each year Katikati College competes in the EPro8 engineering competition. This year three teams were entered in the Year 7 and 8 heats.

The students performed well with the best team coming fourth. Lessons were learnt around cooperating and communicating and we hope to see a good number coming back in 2022. 

This year the Bay of Plenty region hosted a secondary age group heat at Tauranga Boys College. We entered three teams in the Year 9 and 10 division with our top team coming second (Murdoch Cameron, Liam Kean, Miles Jonson and Tim Wiebes) and our next best performing team came 4th (Kara McCormick, Hannah Goulay, Jacob Doidge and Leo Willacy). Both these teams will compete in the semi finals in July. Our most outstanding performance came from the senior team of Ben Tanner, Samuel Vickers, Jack Preston and Austin Millar. The team came first in their division completing three of the four tasks in their entirety. My thanks to all participants and their parents for supporting the competition.