BOT Report

Leamington School —

Board of Trustees Report

Nga Mihi

I would like to introduce myself as the Chair of Leamington School Board of Trustees (BOT), taking over from Justin Read earlier this year. It is a great privilege being chair of a highly regarded school. We are lucky to have a team of staff dedicated to teaching the minds of our young learners in a positive environment within our community.

Unfortunately we will be saying goodbye to DP Sunny West at the end of this term. We wish Sunny the best for her new role as principal of KihiKihi School. It is great to see you achieving your goals and utilising your amazing skills. Māuruuru nui mō tō tainga me tō taau. E mōhio ana mātau ka pai taau mahi.

Communication is a valuable tool, and one which is often under rated. The board have a focus of maintaining a high level of communication with our families, teachers and wider community. Collecting your preferences in early term 4 regarding Co-teaching or Single Cell classes and 1:1 digital for 2019 is only part of this, but very valuable.

Recently we have had a successful ERO review. ERO evaluates and reports on the education and care of children and young people in schools. The initial findings have been pleasing, and we look forward to seeing the report in full.

The first teachers full day strike in 25 years will be taking place on August 15th. Whilst we are aware that this may cause some inconvenience for families, The Board of Trustees has had no option but to formally close the school on the day of the teachers strike.

If you have comments, concerns or complements, our doors are always open, so please feel to express these to teachers, Mike or ourselves.

Board of Trustees meetings are public meetings, which you are welcome to attend. The next meeting is scheduled for 16thAugust, 6.30pm in the staff room. BOT elections are due next year, if you are at all curious or interested in being part of the board, please come along and see what it entails.

he pai, he pai hoki nga hiahia

Ian Wilson

BOT Chairperson