Hero photograph
Mana Pounamu Young Achievers
Photo by Janine Hills

Mana Pounamu Young Achievers

Arnika Hazelwood —

Congratulations to Te Awa Crossman-Nixon and Phoebe Nathan our Mana Pounamu award winners for 2019.

Both students were presented their awards at a special ceremony at the College of Education in November. The awards recognise the outstanding achievements and leadership of young Maori students across Otago secondary schools. We have appreciated the leadership, achievements and contribution of both students across a wide range of areas including in Kapa Haka, in organising celebrations and activities for te wiki o te reo Maori (Maori language week) as well as embodying manaakitanga (hospitality and care) in our community.