Hero photograph
Scholarship Recipients
Photo by Kristan Mouat

University Scholarships announced for 2018

Arnika Hazelwood —

Congratulations to our Year 13 students who have been awarded Tertiary Scholarships in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

29 of our Year 13 students have received over $400,000 in scholarships from Otago University. Over 3,000 young people applied for the scholarships and they are awarded to the top applicants. The scholarships range from $2,500 to $45,000. Some students were also offered scholarships from Auckland University, Victoria University and Canterbury University. We will update this list as more scholarships are announced.

Academic Excellence Scholarships:

Ahi Kaitai Mullane

Ben Clayton

Oscar McGuire

Rachael Molteno

Charlotte Dickie

Louis Whitburn

The Academic Excellence Scholarships are awarded to the top 29 students who apply from around New Zealand.  Our students winning 6 of them is impressive.  

Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarships:

Sophie Huntington

Alva Feldmeier

Ben Major

Ben Dubyk

Naomi Ashby-Ryan

Stephanie Devereux

Pippa Chang

Alice McNoe with Distinction

Desiree Heinze Farrington with Distinction

117  young people have been awarded Leaders of Tomorrow. 

Maori and Pacific Island Peoples Entrance Scholarship:

Emma Samuels

Belle Williams

Mane Marshall

33 Maori Pacific Island Peoples scholarships have been awarded.

New Frontiers Scholarships:

Tarren Loughran

Abby Spronken

Lena McNaughton

Jenna McNaughton

Max Riddle

Nicholas Tregonning

Abigail Nardo

Max Riddle

Performance Scholarship:

Isla Thomas - for Poetry Performance

22 Performance scholarships were awarded.  

Clair Caird received a Victoria University Excellence Scholarship and Oscar McGuire has won The University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarship.  Emma Samuels was also offered a Otago Polytechnic Scholarship for 2018.   Siobhan Quinn was awarded an Otago Polytechnic Principal's Scholarship.