Hero photograph
Photo by Joe McMenamin


Mrs Ranchod —

It has been another awesome year for Amo. Again the calibre of our prefects and mentors has truly been outstanding. Their enthusiasm and active participation have made them great role models for our whanau.

Amo prefects – Diana Oloapu (Whanau Head Prefect), Jack Morrissey, Jacob Hogwood and Susanna Graham.

Mentors: 9AKN James Jessop & Bradley Bridewell; 9ATA Zainal Ali, Aria Robin-Underwood & John MacMillan; 10AFS Fonofa Fale & Danny Chanaphoo; 10ATS Peter Lee & Christian Ki Toalepai.

The year started off with the Year 9 orientation day enjoyed by all especially the challenging seven legged race. The tabloid sports created a lot of excitement amongst Amo whanau eager and willing to participate. Our assemblies continue to be lively and spirited. Mentors and prefects came up with a number of new activities encouraging students to participate. All LAR’s participated in demonstrating the School’s Te Whanau Tahi values with 9ATA leading the way with an action song, 10AFS with their static images and many others with videos.

Many students enthusiastically participated in the whanau competitions held during the year. All games were played with great camaraderie and we always came back to the college’s core values ‘Te Whanau Tahi’- one family.

We have had a number of students participate in a range of activities including the 40hr Famine, whereby James Jessop achieved his amazing goal - decided to swim 40 lengths (1km), cycle 40km and run 40km, which is roughly a marathon. Other students had participated in Duke of Edinburgh, singing competitions, sports teams and leadership programmes.

Highlights this year include:

· Diana Oloapu – the Howey Cup for Student Representative on Board of Trustees and also awarded the Athletics Parents’ Association Cup.

· Riki Hunt – Naenae College Sportsman of the Year again this year.

· James Jessop awarded the Waiwhetu Girls’ High School Cup for senior boy champion.

· Jack Morrissey awarded the Naeane Old Boys’ Football Cup and also Ignite Sport Trust Character Athlete of the Year. This is a new award honouring a student with outstanding strength of character, sportsmanship and citizenship. Also, jointly awarded the Derek Wood Thophy and Parents’ Association Prize and CF. Gardiner Cup for Boys and Principle’s Prize for worthy contribution to school life.

· Susanna Graham awarded for Best Senior Music Performance Medal, the John Hendren Memorial Award, for English the Julie Stockdale Cup and also the Alumni Scholarship for Tertiary Study ($500).

· Theodora Wilkins recognised for Top Academic Honours for Year 11.

· Susana-Christie Malaki awarded the Te Whanau Tahi Award for her signifant contribution to the Polynesian Cultural Group and also recognising working hard at her academic studies .

Our Year 13 LAR leave us this year to carry on their new life journey. We wish them all the very best.

For the last three years I have enjoyed being Amo Whanau Head. It has been an amazing and challenging journey. Getting to know the students, some more than others. It has been rewarding and inspiring to see the positive changes in attitudes and maturity in many students. The support from prefects, mentors and learning advisors has made my journey that much more enjoyable and fulfilling. GO AWESOME AMO!

Mrs Ranchod