Hero photograph

South Island Secondary Schools’ Swimming Champs

Andie McGrouther, Year 11 —

Last weekend, the Otago Girls’ swim team travelled to Timaru to compete in the South Island Secondary Schools' Swimming Championships. Among the eight athletes participating, there were many great races, resulting in personal bests and a number of top three placings. The team consisted of: Madi Wills, Caitlin Hewson, Andie McGrouther, Sophie Sam, Holly Wright, Ella Wills, Rosa van Turnhout, Tayla Annan.

Otago Girls’ came away with 12 medals, including our A relay, placing 2nd in the 16 to 18 Women’s 200m Medley Relay and the 200m Freestyle Relay. Our B Relay team came 4th in both the 13 to15 Women’s 200m Medley Relay and the 200m Freestyle Relay.

Another notable achievement was that Otago Girls’ were placed 3rd top girls school in the South Island with 382 points.

A huge congratulation to everyone who competed. The team would like to send a big thank you to Gina Wills (Team Manager), and Miss Young for organising the trip and supporting everyone over the competition.

In the last week of the July school holidays, the 2021 National Secondary Schools' Swimming championships will be held in Auckland. Our top five swimmers have qualified to compete in this event. We wish them all the best.

Below are our medal winners at South Islands:

Madison Wills

  • 1st, 100 Individual Medley

  • 1st, 100 Freestyle

  • 2nd,100 Breaststroke

  • 2nd, 50 Butterfly

  • 3rd, 50 Breaststroke

Andie McGrouther

  • 3rd, 100 Individual Medley

  • 3rd, 50 Backstroke

  • 3rd, 50 Breaststroke

  • 3rd, 100 Backstroke

Sophie Sam

  • 2nd, 200 Freestyle

Caitlin Hewson

  • 2nd, 100 Freestyle