Hero photograph

Otago Futsal Championships

Mike McGarry —

The school entered 4 teams (senior 1 and 2 and junior 1 and 2) into the Otago Futsal Championship on Friday 13th March.

It was a very successful day with the 2 junior teams meeting in the final where the Junior A team proved too strong despite the score being level at the break. The Year 10's took control in second half for a comfortable win 4-1. Both teams completed wins over Logan Park, Mount Aspiring College and Dunstan along the way to the final.

The Senior 2 team went through the day unbeaten with wins over John McGlashan College, Cromwell College, Mount Aspiring College and Bayfield and repeated there win over Dunstan in the final in a penalty shootout.

The Senior 1 team unfortunately lost their final to Mount Aspiring College after beating the hot favourites in the round robin earlier in the day. Along the way were comfortable wins over Logan Park and Bayfield.