Team Patel - Cake League Cricket Winning Team 2020 by PNBHS

Cake League Cricket Finals

Match for 1st and 2nd places - Team Patel v Team Cleaver

Played on the PNBHS #1 wicket, Team Patel won the toss, elected to bat, and scored a well-paced 79 for 4 off their 20 overs. Brodie Campbell was the top scorer on 18 and was well supported by Lucas Orlowski on 13 and Jacob Orr on 12. Bowlers Daniel O'Hagan, Diego Rosson and Subba Basantha picked up a wicket each for Team Cleaver.

Needing 4 runs an over to win, Team Patel's disciplined line and length bowling and stifling fielding meant Team Cleaver regularly lost wickets and were always behind the required run rate. Team Cleaver was eventually bowled out in the 19th over for 52 runs with William Bovey being the only batsman to reach double figures scoring 14. Bowlers Hunta Gledhill and Charlie Wuts picked up two wickets each and Jacob Orr was miserly conceding only 4 runs for 1 wicket off his 3 overs.

Team Patel, who finished in last place in the Term 1 Cake League competition, made a remarkable comeback this term, not only winning the final by 27 runs but also managing to complete the Term 4 competition undefeated.

Team Patel Captain Jack Willson was presented with the cake for the winning team by the Rector, Mr. Bovey.

Cake League Cricket Finals 2020 — Image by: PNBHS

3rd and 4th Playoff - Team Taylor v Team Milne

Played on the PNBHS #2 wicket, Team Milne won the toss and elected to field. Team Taylor reached a creditable 96 for 7 off their 20 overs. The top scorers were Kaden Richardson on 29 and Will Roberts on 23. The most successful bowlers for Team Milne were Carter Rhodes-Robinson with 3 wickets for 4 runs and Will Campbell with 2 for 5.

Team Milne's openers set about the run chase with aplomb, Luke Harris top-scoring with 33 runs and Xavier a close second on 32 runs. Team Milne managed to score the winning runs in the 16th over to win by 7 wickets, and finish the Term 4 Cake League competition in 3rd place.