Colts Hockey v Wellington College Snapshots from the Colts Hockey Fixture against Wellington College, final score 2-0 PNBHS  by PNBHS

Metro Glass U15 Colts Hockey

Match reports for Horowhenua College and PNBHS 3rd XI games.

The Metro Glass U15 Colts hockey team have played a further two games in the regional Division One Boys Secondary School grade in the last two weeks. Currently the team is first equal in the division alongside the PNBHS 2nd XI.

The team travelled to Levin on 29th July to play against the Horowhenua 1st XI. The Colts dominated the 1st quarter with Oscar Smith scoring within the first two minutes of the game. Playing mainly within the opposition's 25-line, numerous shots on goal were taken and penalty corners awarded, but were unsuccessful. The 2nd quarter was again very similar, but this time Will Roberts snuck the ball in past the keeper to score, taking the Colts to a half time score of 2-nil.

The start of the 3rd quarter saw Horowhenua being awarded their first penalty corner for the match. Although unsuccessful, this opportunity saw the game change as the Horowhenua team dug deep. Their determination to score saw a further two penalty corners awarded, both were also unsuccessful due to the outstanding goal keeping skills of Solomon Kaihe. Again, the Colts pushed for procession of the ball with a further six attempts at goal. A runaway free pass in the last few minutes of the game saw the Horowhenua team score, leaving the final score as 2-1 to the Metro Glass Colts.

Back in Palmerston North on the 5th August, the Metro Glass U15 Colts team played against some of their peers; playing against the PNBHS 3rd XI. The structure of the game provided the team with opportunities for quick balls into the goal circle. The team worked well, passing around players and looking for penalty corner opportunities, finishing the game with a 7-nil win. The score is a good reflection of the run of play and the team work with six of the goals being field goals. The goal scorers were, Oscar Smith (2), Ben Algie (1), Thomas van Rysewyk (1), Alex James (1), Joshua Smit (1) and Will Roberts (1).