Jake Dalton (11WS), Asher McNeil (11ST), Callum Wakefield (11GD), MakKay Wakefield (11GD) by Sue Napier

EVlocity 2019

EVolocity in partnership with Orion, Enviroschools, Assist Energy Ltd, ETCO, University of Auckland and MeloYelo, proudly hosted the school’s programme for the fifth year of competition.

RHS students Callum Wakefield, Mackay Wakefield, Asher McNeil and Jake Dalton proudly represented us at this years event.

The programme, now extends from Canterbury through to Nelson, Wellington, Waikato, Manawatu, Wanganui, Wairarapa, Horowhenua, Bay of Plenty and Auckland schools. The idea behind the schools programme is to engage teams of students in designing and building an electric vehicle using an electric motor componentry kit (which is supplied). Team members develop skills in mechanical & electrical engineering, allowing participants to gain knowledge, skills and passion in the areas of design, engineering and technology that will prepare them for 21st century careers and empower them to create a more sustainable future.

Our boys completed all races and the bike went really well.  More importantly, they were superb to take to the event. 

A big thank you to all of the boys parents who came along and supported them.

Image by: Sue Napier

In the boys own words:

Last year, after listening to all the speeches explaining about eVelocity, we were inspired and decided to make a custom bike out of carbon fiber, and make it really fancy and high tech. The frame was going well until we managed to melt the foam while prepping it.  We got quite discouraged by this and motivation waned with not much more work being done on it for the rest of the year.

This year however, we were determined that we would have a bike ready to race by the Race Day. We worked really hard and learned so many new skills, and in the end, achieved our goal. Despite most of our work being done in the late hours of the night before the race, we did pretty well and actually passed the safety check!

We’re definitely going to enter again next year and hopefully do better.

By Callum Wakefield, Mackay Wakefield, Asher McNeil and Jake Dalton.