Pō Whakanui 2020

Pō Whakanui

The celebration of success for our Māori students was held this term on the 3rd of November. With about 100 whānau members, students and staff there, it was a very pleasant evening.

Organised by our Mana Toroa seniors and the Te Ao Māori class, it included a full dinner, singing and a stunning performance by our kapahaka. 

Pō Whakanui 2020

The barbeque was in full swing, the hall was beautifully decorated and the MCs – Avalon Te Harra-Barr and Kalani Wilson – kept the evening going smoothly. 

Pō Whakanui 2020

Along with the kapahaka Service Awards for two and four years’ service, these special awards were presented to our talented ākonga:

  • Te Ringatoi Māori, the Laugesen award for the arts, to Jordan Riddell
  • Te Rongomaraeroa, Tuakana, for senior sports, to Madi McLaren and Jayda Kingi
  • Te Rongomaraeroa, Teina, for junior sports, to Tui Pau’u
  • Te Wairua o ngā mahi o Hine Rehua, the junior Kapahaka award, to Bradyn Burling
  • Te Hononga Wairua award for senior leader of Kapahaka, to Awatea Daly
  • Te Wairua o ngā mahi a Tane-Rore, for passion and committment to kapahaka, to Peggy Tombs
  • The Korowai for support of Te Ao Māori within the school and the wider community, to Stevie Kingi.
Pō Whakanui 2020

Pō Whakanui 2020

We also farewelled Latoya Graham and Anne Jacques. 

Latoya has been teaching kapahaka in the South Island for nine years, but leaves us to move to Auckland. 

She is a Kapa Haka performer and song writer and many of her songs have been sung throughout New Zealand and most recently, at Te Matatani. 

Anne Jacques lead the Kauapapa Māori committee and supported Mana Toroa over the last three years.