Hero photograph
Photo by Jose Zandbergen

Aoraki Secondary Schools Touch Championships

Bryce Caird —

On Sunday March 7th the Roncalli College Senior Mixed Touch team took part in the Aoraki Secondary School Championships at School Park, Timaru claiming the Aoraki Mixed Touch Winners Title.

The team played 4 games over the course of the day, with matches against Geraldine High School, Mackenzie College, Mount Hutt College and Waimate High School.

The team started well in their first up game against Geraldine High School, scoring some good early tries and holding out well on defence to win the match 7-1. Their second match against Mackenzie College saw some great defence, but the team struggled to get their attack into full swing, coming away winners 4-0.

The third game of the day was against the unbeaten Mt Hutt side. After a close first half and a couple of unlucky calls the Roncalli team put out their strongest performance of the day, winning a tight encounter 4-1 to remain undefeated. The final game of the day was against the much improved Waimate High School team, who if they beat Roncalli could potentially still win overall. Leading into halftime the scores were tied 0-0 before a quick try to Roncalli just before the halftime buzzer game us a 1-0 lead heading into the break. The second half was also a very tense affair, with Roncalli managing two quick tries before the end of the game to take the match 3-0, and win the Aoraki Mixed Touch title.

The Roncalli side showed great effort throughout the day, which was illustrated in their statistics for the day. Games won: 4, Games lost: 0, Tries for: 18, Tries against: 2.

A big thank you to Shaun Campbell from Sports Canterbury for organising and hosting the day, and also a huge thank you to former Roncalli students and touch players Ruby Sugrue, Hayden Kerr and George Laing who kindly helped out with refereeing throughout the day.

The Roncalli Senior Mixed Touch team for 2021:

Image by: Jose Zandbergen

Back Row: Matthew Cairns, Angus Rooney, William Laing, Ollie Richards, Petelo Faha, George Clark, Maika Mason.

Front Row: Ella Sugrue (captain), Mia Daly, Roshean O’Connor, Chelsea Sheehan, Charli Nevin.