Hero photograph
Aoraki Secondary Schools Sports Awards 2018
Photo by Brad Reeve Photography

Aoraki Secondary Schools Sports Awards

Jose Zandbergen —

The 20th Annual Aoraki Secondary Schools Sports Awards was held on Friday 2 November at the Southern Trust Events Centre with Guest Speaker Peter Breen. The evening was an opportunity to acknowledge staff, community and students’ outstanding sporting performances and successes.

Roncalli College had 45 representatives in attendance, including student finalists, parents, family and staff. This was a great reflection on the successful year Roncalli students have had in sporting achievement and representation. Thank you to the parents and families of Roncalli for your wonderful support.

Congratulations to all our 2018 Roncalli Finalists:

Ben Davenport (Cricket), Jaxson Whyte (Cycling), Dharma Brooks (Football), Alex Kelliher (Golf), Jordan Trumper (Grass Karting), Benjamin Kerr (Hockey), Thomas Flynn (Hockey), Charlotte Clarke (Inline Speed Skating), Jan-Hendrik Kuepper (Inline Speed Skating), Ella Sugrue (Motocross), Antonio Frances Rees (Rowing), Jamie Fitzgerald (Table Tennis), Reagan Ashley (Outstanding Referee), Meghan Phillips (Athlete with a Disability), Mr Eddie Lee (Community & Staff Contribution), Mr Craig Hinton (Outstanding Sports Coach).

I would also like to acknowledge the Roncalli students who were nominees only: Ruby Sugrue (Equestrian), Natasha Pannett (Swimming), Matthew Gray (Swimming), Samuel Gray (Swimming), Girls 1st XI Football Team (Team of the Year).

Roncalli College Winners 2018

Community & Staff Contribution 

  • Mr. Eddie Lee

Outstanding Referee (Basketball) 

  • Reagan Ashley

Sportsperson of the Year Awards 2018

  • Ben Davenport ~ Cricket
  • Jaxson Whyte ~ Cycling
  • Dharma Brooks ~ Football
  • Alex Kelliher ~ Golf
  • Jordan Trumper ~ Grass Karting
  • Jan-Hendrik Kuepper ~ Inline Speed Skating
  • Ella Sugrue ~ Motocross
  • Jamie Fitzgerald ~ Table Tennis