Hero photograph
Photo by Bryce Baird

Roncalli U15 Colts ~ Champions

Bryce Caird —

The U15 Colts had the opportunity to compete in a one day tournament during tournament week. The team had outstanding results finishing the day unbeaten.

On Wednesday 2 September the Roncalli Under 15 Boys Colts team took part in a one day Under 15’s tournament in Timaru to be run as part of winter tournament week. After the games being postponed on Tuesday due to poor weather, Wednesday was a stunning spring day, with conditions perfect for some good running rugby.

The team contained 24 players from both the Under 14.5 and Under 16.5 teams and played three 30 minute games against Timaru Boys High School, Geraldine High School and a combined Waimate High School - Mackenzie College team.

The team started the day well, playing Timaru Boys High School at School Park. After a strong opening 15 minutes they led TBHS 17-0 at halftime, and hung on in the second spell as TBHS’s large runners came back at them to finish the game with a 17-5 victory.

The second match of the day was against Geraldine High School at Alpine Energy Stadium, and Roncalli again started the match well, with several strong runs from the backline resulting in tries out wide and Roncalli running out winners 24-7.

The final game of the day was against a strong Waimate High School-Mackenzie College combined team. Roncalli started the match well with some great tries to the backline to go ahead 21-5 at halftime, and continued their form into the second spell scoring three more tries to win 40-5.

The team showed a lot of promise and spirit throughout the day and represented the College with pride. A big thank you to the coaches Jonts McKerrow and Julian Pratt, the managers Julie Pratt and Jo King, and the technical advisor Mac Eaton, for giving up their time to coach and manage the team.

Roncalli 2020 Colts team: James Atwill, Ryan Beens, Alex Birchall, Carlos Cook, Javarney Drummond, Liam Greene, Cameron King, Max Lyons, Patrick Marshall, Maika Mason, Jed McKerrow, Luke Mitchell, Ifalemi Paongo, Codey Pratt, Vinny Pratt, Rhys Stevens, Homai Tamaiparea, Nicholas Tarrant, Alexis Diason, Allimau Fiso, Josh Gallagher, William Laing (vc) Brayden Wilson (c) .