Hero photograph
John Laurenson
Photo by K Casey

Headmaster's Message

John Laurenson —

Dear Parent and Caregivers

Let me begin by thanking the current elected Board Members, Mr Tony Deavoll (Chairperson), Mr Stu McLauchlan (Deputy Chairperson), Mr Gray Crawford, Mr Neil Falconer and Ms Sarah Clark (Parent Representatives), Mr Karaitiana Taiuru (Whanau Representative), Mr Steve Garland (Staff Representative), for their sterling service these past three years. As well as present Student Elected Representative Judah Watkinson.

Without their guidance and leadership, Shirley would have been in a considerably poorer position than the position of strength it is currently.

By the time of the next newsletter, I hope to be able to inform you of the new Board Members after the forthcoming elections.

The current Board offered strong leadership in a time when we were gearing ourselves to get the planning for a new school completed. The new Board will set itself the task of bringing that planning to completion and seeing the rebuild on the new site finished, ready for the start of 2019.

I am certainly looking forward to meeting this challenge, together with returning and new members of The Shirley Boys’ High School Board of Trustees.

On the 11th May, I attended a successful ABSNZ Conference with the Head Boy, Matthew Croft. The conference was in Wellington and featured addresses by Dr Neil Quigley, vice-Chancellor Waikato University, Dr Phil Cummins Director CIRCLE, David Armstrong Director IBSC, Dr David Armstrong, sports physician. The conference dinner featured Scotty Stevenson who provided an intelligent insight into life as a student at Auckland Grammar.

We had a very successful day hosting Year 8 students on Friday 13th, and I am most grateful for the work of Craig Croft, Matt Sharr, Tim Grocott as well as all of the staff who worked so hard to make the day particularly memorable for our Year 8 guests and their teachers.

Finally, I must thank you all for your willing support for our annual Work Day. The proceeds will go towards helping us replace old furniture with modern comfortable items that will benefit all current students in the school.


John Laurenson