by Sandra McKernan

Senior Prizegiving

On Thursday 5th November the Senior Prizegiving was held in the school hall.

This is an excellent opportunity to recognise the success of the Year 11-13 boys. Mr Deavoll, the Chair of the Board of Trustees spoke about the successes during the year but also identified the challenges we face in education and how we need to be prepared for those. Mr Laurenson spoke about the skills young people need in the future and how important it is that we learn to work together and that we think about each other as well as ourselves. There was also an excellent speech from the Head Boy Dom Bain as he reflected on his time at Shirley Boys’. The winners of the Elite Awards were:

Glen Beardsley – Junior Hartley Scholar (Year 11)

Lachlan Walsh – Headmaster's Prize for Academic Excellence (Year 11)

Matthew Croft – OfficeMax Prize (Year 12)

Sean Takai – Kirby Prize (Year 12)

Brad Proud - Hugh McDougall Rankin Education Trust Award (Year 13)

Kevin Jonker – OfficeMax Citizenship Award (Year 13)

Lachlan Murdoch – Indoor Bowling Club Prize

Dom Bain – Hartley Scholar (Year 13)

Tom Christie – Old Boys' Prize (Year 13)

Cameron Richards – PTA Prize for Proxime Accessit (Runner up to the Dux)

Brad Proud – PTA Prize for Dux

The evening finished with the Year 13 boys doing a haka in the Quad to acknowledge the staff and their families for their support over the last five years.