by Sourced from

Swimming success at national championships

The New Zealand Secondary Schools’ Swimming Championship for 2019 was held at Te Rapa Waterworld from 12-15 September.

The St Paul's swim squad members were: Ben Littlejohn (17-18 year old boys), Kaitlyn Sosa (17-18 year old girls), Ben Haskell (15 year old boys), Boston Tordoff (14 year old boys), Matthew Chanwai (13 year old boys), and Nate Allen (13 year old boys).

There were 730 swimmers from 160 secondary schools from across New Zealand who competed in the six sessions over the four days of timed finals racing.

There were many highlights for St Paul’s swimmers over those four days of competition, which included:

  • Six silver medals, two bronze medals and a fourth placing for Ben Littlejohn.
  • One bronze medal for Boston Tordoff and three other top 10 finishes.
  • Three top 10 and two top 20 finishes for Kaitlyn Sosa.
  • Three top 20 finishes for the under-15 years boys relay team of Boston, Ben, Matthew and Nate.
  • Many personal bests for all swimmers who were able to swim under their Swim New Zealand seed times.

Overall out of the 69 co-ed schools, St Paul’s ranked 13th.