Debating team by St Paul's Collegiate School

Debating team win Open Division Waikato Champions

Last term St Paul’s attended the annual Waikato debating open and premier final debate. For the first time in six years, the St Paul’s senior debating team of Frankie Muir (Year 12), Max Robinson (Year 13), and Stella Thompson (Year 13) made it to the final round, where they took on Sacred Heart Girls' College, Hamilton. They out-debated their opposition and were crowned the Open Division Waikato Champions for 2022. 

  • Sophie Lawrence (Year 12) and Joanna Li (Year 13) were awarded top five places for best speakers out of over 300 students.
  • Kaedan Govender (Year 9) received an individual third place best speaker award.
  • Jonathan Jiang (Year 9) won the top individual speaker prize in the novice division.

Congratulations to our keen debaters! These results rank St Paul's as one of the best-performing schools out of the debating season.