Hero photograph

Duke of Edinburgh International Award

Joshua Foundation —

Recently our students Boadicea Lynch, Caitlin Tempelton, Chelsea Smith, Shymara Shaynese and Piper Stewart received awards from Mayor Lianne Dalziel.

The Duke of Edinburgh International Awards is a non-competitive programme of leisure activities designed to offer a person an individual challenge. Anyone between the ages of 14 and 24 can take up the program, regardless of gender, background or ability. All awards must be completed by the participant’s 25th Birthday.

The award introduces young people to exciting, positive, challenging and enjoyable activities to do in their free time.

There are four sections with three levels:

The levels are:

  • Bronze – open to all aged 14 and over and lasting at least 6 months
  • Silver – open to all aged 15 and over and lasting at least 12 months
  • Gold – open to all aged 16 and over and lasting at least 18 months

The sections are:

  • Service– giving help in the local community
  • Skills– covering almost any non-physical hobby, skill or interest
  • Adventurous Journey– completing a journey on foot, horseback or by boat or cycle
  • Physical Recreation– sport, dance and fitness
  • Residential Project– for the Gold level only – spending 5 or more days on a purposeful project with new companions

The Joshua Foundation is an independent Operating Authority for the Duke of Edinburgh International Award. Joshua Foundation has been facilitating expeditions on behalf of the Hillary Award in excess of 12 years.