Hero photograph
Waitaki Exchange 2021
Photo by TBHS

Timaru and Waitaki Share Honours


The 138th Waitaki Exchange was played in fine conditions in Oamaru on Wednesday 22 September.

The 1st XV Rugby team finished a successful season in good style with a strong 50-7 win in the longest unbroken 1st XV match in New Zealand. Pleasingly, Waitaki were much more competitive than last year and finished this season strongly to claim the Plate Final (5th place) in the Highlanders Schools' Competition. They started the match defending strongly but once Timaru’s forwards started to tip pass into space, they found holes in the defence and created opportunities to score. They led 24-7 at half-time and after a scrappy start to the 2nd half finished strongly against a tiring home side. For TBHS, key forwards Bede Fisher, Ben Bartlett and Fletcher Joyce led the way while half-back Ned Milne and first-five Toby Clemett were the best of the backs.

In the 1st XI Football match, Timaru dominated throughout and eased to a decisive 6-0 win. Pero Forman scored a hat-trick and Corban Meyer and Keegan Munro also got on the score sheet. 

The 1st XI Hockey match was similar with TBHS in charge on the way to a 7-0 victory. Angus Neal and MacGregor Rae picked up two goals apiece for Timaru.

Waitaki were too strong for Timaru in the Senior Basketball pulling clear in the final quarter for a strong 91-59 win. 

Waitaki were also able to record wins in hard fought Badminton (7-6) and Trapshooting (247-236) fixtures to leave the overall honours locked at 3-3.


Hockey: 7-0 (TBHS) Rugby: 50-7 (TBHS)
Football: 6-0 (TBHS) Badminton: 6-7 (WBHS)
Basketball: 59-91 (WBHS) Trapshooting: 236-247 (WBHS)
3-3 Draw